Caetano Veloso talks about Babe, Terror, compares to “Araçá Azul” on interview; “A Capital Federal” on Pitchfork, new pics

Interviewed by Recife’s Jornal do Commercio (edition of August 9th), Caetano Veloso speaks about how he met Tv on The Radio and Animal Collective as well as how he gets into the music of now firstly, then, on the next lines, talks about Babe, Terror – or (lower case) babe, terror! English translation follows the pic, to see online version (in portuguese) click the pic.

caetano reduzido

Caetano Veloso: “It’s been more than a month since (*music researcher, anthropologist) Hermano Vianna sent me an article by Sasha Frere Jones in New Yorker praising a band from São Paulo called babe, terror (like this, in lower case, don’t letting us know if the words babe and terror are in portuguese or english: the guy himself – it’s an one-man band – delivered Sasha his own text explaining what “terror” means in portuguese, like if the word doesn’t set in the english idiom). Went on myspace for a check. Fascinating. I’ve read on Guardian his sound is alike to Tv on The Radio and Animal Collective. Looking the music by myself, It reminded me even “Araçá Azul” (*Veloso’s album from 1972), though I felt the guy himself didn’t think on that album. I’ve read later about he speaking of Mutantes, Clube da Esquina (*Minas Gerais movement lead by Milton Nascimento). I told you all these things (*including the way he met Animal Collective, in a rainy outdoor gig in NYC) to make you understand how randomly I reach new stuff and how they get organized in my mind. How those several stories appear unexpectedly. But I don’t sit anymore to listen records hours and hours long. Finishing, everything is influential on my own music. But I don’t feel me competent to be influenced by fine musicians.”

Random views from weekend, not the record:

foto1

foto2

foto3

foto4

“A Capital Federal”, Weekend track 6, on Pitchfork’s Forkcast (click the small pic to reach the page, listen/ read what they write about):

ACAPITALFEDERALNOFORKAST!2

Babe, Terror Myspace.

Leave a Reply

